logo house of francheska antique and vintage emporium, top ten business for the south west region barclays trading places awards 2008


latest news for website

Designer Trifari
Trifari Jewellery History Timeline

There's so much history to Trifari Jewellery. Trifari Jewellery was first known as Trifari and Trifari founded by Gustavo Trifari and his uncle in 1910. The company name changed to just Trifari after Gustavos uncle left. In 1917 Leo Krussman joined and then Carl Fishel in 1925. They renamed the Company Trifari, Krussman and Fishel which is where the signature mark "KTF" derived.

Early 1930 Alfred Philippe joined as head designer, he's considered a top master craftsman in fine jewellery for Cartier and Van Cleef and Arples. His designs became very popular especially the well known designs known as fruit salad (also known as Tutti Frutti) jewellery. The company was run 1910 to 1975 by the originating founders and sons of those founders. In 1975 Trifari was purchased by several other companies, there's so much rich history to Trifari, we will add more and more over time on their fascinating history. Early Trifari Jewellery is very collectible and some pieces are now very rare to find.


TRIFARI LINE OF JEWELRY

Gainsborough 1932
Jewels of Tanjore 1945
Talisman 1946
Moghul 1949
Scheherazade 1949
Day and Night 1949
Orientique by Trifari 1950
Gems of India 1951
Coronation Jewels 1952
L'Opera 1952
Evening Star 1954
Pins A La Mode 1958
Triege by Trifari 1958
Sorrento 1959
Etoile 1959
Fantasia by Trifari 1960
The Jewels of India 1965
Trifari's Fireworks 1966
L'Orient 1968
Trifari Light 1968
White Enamel Collection 1969
Ming Collection 1972
Diane Love Collection 1972


DESIGNERS FOR TRIFARI

Alfred Philippe (1930s 40s 50s to 1966.) -- PRESS HERE TO VIEW
Alfred Spaney (Late 1930s to 1940s) Also Some animal pins
David Mir (1930s and 1940s) Also Some bow pins
Norman Bel Geddes (1940)
Joseph Wuyts (1940)
Benedetto Panetta,
Jean Paris (1958 to 1965)
Andre Boeut (1967 to 1979)
Diane Love (1971 to 1974)
Jonathan Bailey (1970s)
Marcella Saltz (1980s to 1990s) Usually signed her name


TRIFARI HISTORY OF OWNERSHIP

Founders and sons of founders of Trifari (1910 to 1975)
Hallmark Jewelry Co. (1975 to 1988)
Crystal Brands (1988 to 1994)
Chase Capital Partners,
Lattice Holding Co., a division of the Monet Group (1994 to 2000)
Monet Group, was purchased by Liz Claiborne in (July 2000)
Liz Claiborne moved operations to Puerto Rico soon after purchase!
Trifari, Mosell, and Marvella Jewelry are now off shore operations.


TRIFARI SIGNATURES AND MARKS

Jewels by TRIFARI (crown over T in Trifari 1920) "used as label"
Gainsborough (1932) printed version used to ID collection"
KTF (mark first in use 1935) "on metal"
KTF. (taller T than other letters) 1935 "on metal"
CLIP-MATES (1936) "used as label"
TRIFARI (with out the crown above T) "first used 1937 on metal"
TRIFARI (with crown above the T) "first used in 1939 on metal
Orientique by TRIFARI (1950) "Used as label to identify collection"
Ear-Mates (signed in script 1953) "used as label"
T (T hang tag with open detailed crown on top 1954) "metal hang tag on item"
KTF (crown over T 1954) "used to ID KTF Industrial Products"
TIE-UPS (1957) "used as label"
Tie-Ups by TRIFARI (Tie-Ups in script and crown over T in Trifari 1957) "used as label"
Triege by TRIFARI (Triege in script with crown over T in Trifari 1958) "Label used to ID collection"


MORE ON TRIFARI SIGNATURE AND MARKS

1920 –Jewels by TRIFARI with thecrown over T in Trifari - used as a label
1932 – Gainsborough - the printed version was used to ID collections
1935 – KTF used on metal
1935 – KTF. With a taller T than other letters used on metal
1936 – CLIP-MATES used as a label
1937 – TRIFARI with out the crown above T used on metal
1939 – TRIFARI with crown above the T used on metal
1950 – Orientique by TRIFARI - used as label to identify collection
1953 – Ear-Mates in script - used as label
1954 – T with open detailed crown on top - metal hang tag
1954 – KTF with crown over T -- used on KTF Industrial Products
1957 – TIE-UPS - used as label
1957 – Tie-Ups by TRIFARI in script and crown over T in Trifari - used as label
1958 – Triege by TRIFARI in script with crown over T in Trifari - label used to ID collection
Current – TRIFARI TM – used on metal The Crown above the T has been changed many times over the years both on hang tags and labels. The first metal hang tags on items were fancy open cut and had fine detail work. The paper label T hang tags were often close to the original but varied from a tall and slender T to a shorter and broader version with different style of the crown.

Pictures and signature marks will be added shortly, thank you for your patience.



Please visit sold items collectors gallery for reference and identification > > >

Please go back to designers information > > >




House of francheska top 10 business in the south west region of the uk barclays trading places award 2008

House of Francheska, Barclays Bank PLC Trading Places Award 2008 > > >


You can find us on the following links below

scoot touch local bristol post indpendent the sun

we are listed in the antiques, collectables and memorabilia specialist directory

Customer information | Frequently Asked Questions | Press and Awards | Testimonials
Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Security | Sitemap | Links



facebook twitter pinterest linkedin google





Back to top of page


copyright